Advice and answers from the BlogPress Team

You can edit and delete categories - your posts will not be deleted. 

  • If you edit the category, the posts associated with that category will be auto updated to reflect the changes.
  • If you delete a category, the posts associated with that category will be moved to the "uncategorized" category (or whichever category you have set to be the default category in your settings)

To delete a single category:

  • In the dashboard, go to Posts > Categories.
  • Hover over the category you want to delete, and click the "delete" link

You can also delete multiple categories at the same time:

  • In the dashboard, go to Posts > Categories.
  • Put a check in the box to the left of the Category you want to delete.
  • Towards the top of the category page is a pulldown labeled Bulk Actions.
  • Change it to say Delete.
  • Then click the button next to it that says Apply.
  • Your category will now be deleted.

There is a Video Tutorial for managing categories. Go to your dashboard and select Video Tutorials from the left menu and then look for the "Organizing Content" Section and watch the video called "Categories".

Did this answer your question?